You are here: American University Human Resources Who to Contact

Who to Contact Quickly find the correct contact by searching by topic

Please note that this is not a department directory. You can access the Human Resources directory to view a complete listing of the Human Resources team and view our organizational structure.

Contacts in Human Resources
For questions and assistance with Contact Phone Email
Child Development Center Veronica Chirlin 3330 vchirlin@american.edu
Adjunct faculty appointments, e-actions and pay Merlyn McClure 3751 mmcclure@american.edu
Affinity groups Andie Rowe 3589 arowe@american.edu
AsuccessfulU system issues (PMP, Learning, Recruitment) Gina Arevalo 2768 AsuccessfulU@american.edu
AsuccessfulU training and course information including location and times for new, changed, and cancelled sessions Danielle Koon 2513 AsuccessfulU@american.edu
Benefit questions for faculty (CAS, SOE, & SIS) Katie MacKaye 3739 3734 mackaye@american.edu
Benefit questions for faculty (KSB, SOC, SPA, WCL, and ULib) Mikkia Cordle 3749 3734 mcordle@american.edu
Benefit questions for full-time staff and new hires Barbara Young 3525 byoung@american.edu
Benefit questions for full-time staff and new hires Yolanda Francis 2594 yfrancis@american.edu
Commuter bike benefit Andie Rowe 3589 arowe@american.edu
Compensation Merica Shepherd Merica Shepherd
E-actions HR Payroll Help 3836 hrpayrollhelp@american.edu
Employee relations - discriminatory and sexual harassment complaints, misconduct, discipline, performance improvement plans, whistleblower, compliance with employment laws (Affirmative Action, EEO, HIPAA), employee grievances John O'Malley 2742 jomalley@american.edu
Employee relations - mediation, conflict resolution, discriminatory and sexual harassment complaints, performance improvement plans, whistleblower, compliance with employment laws (Affirmative Action, EEO, HIPAA), employee grievances Brenda Harner 3550 bharner@american.edu
Employment Verification Email Request voe@american.edu
Faculty contracts, pay, benefits questions, actions, orientation (CAS, SOE, & SIS) Katie MacKaye 3739 mackaye@american.edu
Faculty contracts, pay, benefits questions, actions, orientation (KSB, SOC, SPA, WCL, and ULib) Mikkia Cordle 3749 mcordle@american.edu
Faculty Staff Assistance Program (FSAP) Confidential Counseling Dale Rampell 2593 fsap@american.edu
Faculty Staff Assistance Program (FSAP) Virtual Confidential Counseling BHS 800-327-2251 my BHS Portal Passcode: AU
Faculty Staff Assistance Program (FSAP) emergency loans Christopher Rasnick 2578 crasnick@american.edu
Flexible work arrangements Christopher Rasnick 2578 crasnick@american.edu
HR Business Partner: Kogod Ann Joiner 2716 ajoiner@american.edu
HR Business Partner: Washington College of Law (WCL) Katherine Simpson 1058 mirch@american.edu
HR website, newsletter, social media, printed materials, emails Shelly D'Amico 2730 sdamico@american.edu
I-9 Certification Training Christopher Rasnick 2578 crasnick@american.edu
Job applicant status The Work Line 3563 theworkline@american.edu
Job descriptions, position management, position classification, compensation policies Compensation 3559 compensation@american.edu
Job descriptions, position management, position classification, compensation policies Cindy Diggs 3523 compensation@american.edu
Medical, dental, and flexible spending account (FSA) claims myBenefits 3400 myBenefits@american.edu
Mentoring Matters Katherine Simpson 1058 mirch@american.edu
New faculty orientation (CAS, SOE, & SIS) Katie MacKaye 3739 mackaye@american.edu
New faculty orientation (KSB, SOC, SPA, WCL, and ULib) Mikkia Cordle 3749 mcordle@american.edu
New staff orientation Danielle Koon 2513 dkoon@american.edu
Office of Information Technology (OIT) Business Partner Katherine Simpson 1058 mirch@american.edu
Onboarding Katherine Simpson 1058 mirch@american.edu
Part-time staff and student e-actions and paperwork (I-9s) Teresa Simms 3598 tesimms@american.edu
Payroll assistance for foreign nationals Simona Assenova 3506 simona@american.edu
Payroll assistance for foreign nationals Tarek Mahfouz 6171 mahfouz@american.edu
Payroll questions for faculty, staff, and students (not foreign nationals) HR Payroll Help 3836 hrpayrollhelp@american.edu
Performance management Michelle Frederick 2689 mfrederi@american.edu
Ready Hire temporary service pool Elizabeth Adams 1495 ReadyHire@american.edu
Recruitment - job postings, recruiting tools, recruiting assistance Recruitment 3563 theworkline@american.edu
Retirement benefits - Fidelity, TIAA, retiree medical Joselino Cruz Perez 3748 joselino@american.edu
Retirement benefits - Fidelity, TIAA, retiree medical Lex Clary 3521 lexclary@american.edu
Short Term Leave, DC Paid Family Leave, Family and Medical Leave for faculty Ann Joiner 2716 ajoiner@american.edu
Short Term Leave, DC Paid Family Leave, Family and Medical Leave for staff Katrina Giles giles@american.edu
Staff learning & development Michelle Frederick 2689 mfrederi@american.edu
Student employment Recruitment 3563 theworkline@american.edu
Supervisor and staff training Michelle Frederick 2689 mfrederi@american.edu
Tax Withholding - Making changes to federal and/or state or DC tax withholdings HR Payroll Help 3836 hrpayrollhelp@american.edu
Time sheets and leave reports HR Payroll Help 3836 hrpayrollhelp@american.edu
Tuition benefits for employees and dependents Joselino Cruz Perez 3748 joselno@american.edu
W-2s HR Payroll Help 3836 hrpayrollhelp@american.edu
Wage statements HR Payroll Help 3836 hrpayrollhelp@american.edu
Wellness programs, AhealthyU Andie Rowe 3742 AhealthyU@american.edu
Workplace accommodations (ADA, disability, religion, etc.), accommodation requests Christopher Rasnick 2578 crasnick@american.edu