You are here: American University Provost Registrar Academic Calendar Academic Calendar 2022-2023 for Online Programs in SOC, SPA, CAS, and OGPS

Academic Calendar 2022-2023 for Online Programs in SOC, SPA, CAS, and OGPS Tentative dates

The Academic Calendar for Online Programs in SOC, SPA, CAS, and OGPS is divided into fall, spring, and summer semester terms of approximately 16 weeks each. Standard courses are delivered in 8-week modules within the terms.

The add/drop/withdrawal and refund schedule applies to all courses with a standard schedule during a term. Add/drop/withdrawal, refund, and grade change dates for courses on nonstandard schedules are calculated proportionately, based on the percentage of the course completed. Please visit the Course Drop and Withdrawals page for more information. A student’s state of residency may determine refund eligibility and amounts. Final grades are always due 72 hours after the official end date of the course.

Fall 2021
Date Day Event
08/29/2022 Mon Fall A classes begin. Payment due for Fall A
09/04/2022 Sun Last day to add a Fall A course
09/04/2022 Sun Last day to drop a Fall A course for a 100% refund and without a “W” recorded
09/05/2022 Mon Fall A withdrawal period begins (withdraw recorded on record; 50% refund)
09/08/2022 Thu Last day to withdraw from a Fall A course for a 50% refund
09/12/2022 Mon Last day to withdraw from a Fall A course for a 25% refund (No refunds after this date)
10/03/2022 Mon Last day to withdraw from a Fall A course or change a grade option
10/23/2022 Sun Fall A classes end
10/24/2022 Mon Fall B classes begin. Payment due for Fall B courses
10/30/2022 Sun Last day to add a Fall B course
10/30/2022 Sun Last day to drop a Fall B course for a 100% refund and without a “W” recorded
10/31/2022 Mon Fall B withdrawal period begins (withdraw recorded on Record; 50% refund)
11/03/2022 Thu Last day to withdraw from a Fall B course for a 50% refund
11/07/2022 Mon Last day to withdraw from a Fall B course for a 25% refund (No refunds after this date)
11/28/2022 Mon Last day to withdraw from a Fall B course or change a grade option
12/18/2022 Sun Fall B classes end
12/18/2022 Sun Fall Commencement Ceremony for August and December graduates
12/23/2022 Fri Official Degree Award Date (date that appears on December diplomas; no event associated with this date)
Spring 2023
Date Day Event
01/02/2023 Mon Spring A classes begin. Payment due for Spring A courses
01/08/2023 Sun Last day to add a Spring A course
01/08/2023 Sun Last day to drop a Spring A course for a 100% refund and without a "W" recorded
01/09/2023 Mon Spring A withdrawal period begins (withdraw recorded on record; 50% refund)
01/12/2023 Thu Last day to withdraw from a Spring A course for a 50% refund
01/16/2023 Mon Last day to withdraw from a Spring A course for a 25% refund (no refunds after this date)
02/06/2023 Mon Last day to withdraw from a Spring A course or change a grade option
02/26/2023 Sun Spring A classes end
02/27/2023 Mon Spring B classes begin. Payment due for Spring B courses
03/05/2023 Sun Last day to add a Spring B course
03/05/2023 Sun Last day to drop a Spring B course for a 100% refund and without a "W" recorded
03/06/2023 Mon Spring B withdrawal period begins (withdraw recorded on record; 50% refund)
03/09/2023 Thu Last day to withdraw from a Spring B course for a 50% refund
03/13/2023 Mon Last day to withdraw from a Spring B course for a 25% refund (no refunds after this date)
04/03/2023 Mon Last day to withdraw from a Spring B course or change a grade option
04/23/2023 Sun Spring B classes end
05/12/2023-05/14/2023 Fri-Sun Commencement Weekend Activities
05/14/2023 Sun Official Degree Award Date
Summer 2023
Date Day Event
05/01/2023 Mon Summer A classes begin. Payment due for Summer A courses
05/07/2023 Sun Last day to add a Summer A course
05/07/2023 Sun Last day to drop a Summer A course for a 100% refund and without a "W" recorded
05/08/2023 Mon Summer A withdrawal period begins (withdraw recorded on record; 50% refund)
05/11/2023 Thu Last day to withdraw from a Summer A course for a 50% refund
05/15/2023 Mon Last day to withdraw from a Summer A course for a 25% refund (no refunds after this date)
06/05/2023 Mon Last day to withdraw from a Summer A course or change a grade option
06/25/2023 Sun Summer A classes end
06/26/2023 Mon Summer B classes begin Payment due for Summer B courses
07/02/2023 Sun Last day to add a Summer B course
07/02/2023 Sun Last day to drop a Summer B course for a 100% refund and without a "W" recorded
07/03/2023 Mon Summer B withdrawal period begins (withdraw recorded on record; 50% refund)
07/06/2023 Thu Last day to withdraw from a Summer B course for a 50% refund
07/10/2023 Mon Last day to withdraw from a Summer B course for a 25% refund (no refunds after this date)
07/31/2023 Mon Last day to withdraw from a Summer B course or change a grade option
08/20/2023 Sun Summer B classes end
08/27/2023 Sun Official Degree Award Date(date that appears on August diplomas; no event associated with this date)