Key Faculty

Last name starts with B

Andrew Bennett Adjunct Professorial Lect

Andrew Bennett is a speaker, consultant, coach, magician, university professor, and 2x TEDx presenter specializing in leadership, organizational culture, and personal development.He spent the first te

  andrewb@american.edu

Ilona Birenbaum Adjunct Professorial Lect

<p>Ms. Birenbaum is a leadership and organizational consultant/leadership coach with over 20 years of experience and a diverse organizational development background. She is an adjunct professor

  birenbau@american.edu

Tracy Burnett Adjunct Professorial Lect

Tracy is a Leadership Coach based in metropolitan Washington, DC. Tracy is passionate about helping leaders discover their path to achieving individual and organizational goals. Tracy is the principal

  tburnett@american.edu

Last name starts with C

Bryan Champion Adjunct Professor

Dr. Bryan L. Champion is a Professor of Public Sector Leadership at the American University Key Leadership Programs. He has over 37 years of employment with the US Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC)

  champion@american.edu

Clarence Crawford Adjunct Professorial Lect

<p>Clarence Crawford is founder and president of the Teach ‘em to Fish. The God-given value proposition for the ministry is to establish a business incubator that helps deserving people get a fr

  crawford@american.edu

  (202) 885-2357

Last name starts with D

Sandra Donati Adjunct Professorial Lect

Ms. Donati is an Adjunct Professor for the Key Executive Leadership Development Program at American University in their Department of Public Administration and Policy. She also serves as the President

  sd1956a@american.edu

Thomas Draffen Adjunct Professorial Lect

Tom supports leaders in the development of their strengths and skills to develop a global model of stewardship. Tom is the Vice President of Operations for Objective Area Solutions, LLC, a boutique co

  draffen@american.edu

John Driessnack Adjunct Professorial Lect

Driessnack is a nationally recognized expert in Systems and Portfolio/Program/Project management and controls in the federal government. Professor Driessnack has worked with over five different federa

  john.driessnack@american.edu

Last name starts with E

James Eisenmann Adjunct Professorial Lect

Jim Eisenmann is an experienced advocate, leader and educator specializing in advising federal and private sector employees and employers on a variety of complex employment issues including investigat

  eisenman@american.edu

Last name starts with F

Catherine Fox Adjunct Instructor

<p>Catherine Fox is Founder and Principal of an international consulting and coaching practice CJFox Associates to support organizations and their leaders in implementing change.  She is consult

  cfox@american.edu

Last name starts with G

Edward Girovasi Adjunct Professorial Lect

<p>Ed Girovasi is a Senior Consultant with the Acquisition and Product Support Group of LMI in Tysons, VA. LMI is a not-for-profit strategic consulting firm dedicated to improving the management

  girovasi@american.edu

Last name starts with H

Last name starts with I

Angelo Ioffreda Adjunct Professorial Lect

Angelo Ioffreda is the chief engagement officer and founder of io spark communications, a strategic communication and management consultancy based in Arlington, VA, whose purpose is to help individual

  ioffreda@american.edu

Last name starts with J

Susan Jenkins Adjunct Professorial Lect

Susan Jenkins is the Director of the Division of Evidence, Evaluation and Data Policy for the US Department of Health and Human Services. She is also a member of the Federal Interagency Council for Ev

  sjenkins@american.edu

Kenneth Jones Adjunct Professorial Lect

Ken Jones is a healthcare executive for the US Army. He works full time as a professor at a military medical school where he teaches: statistics, information systems, marketing and strategy. He holds

  ken.d.jones@american.edu

Last name starts with K

Willard Kayser Adjunct Professorial Lect

<p>Cliff brings 20 years of experience in organization development, leadership coaching, and training. In addition to <a href="https://www.american.edu/spa/key/">KEY</a>, h

  wkayser@american.edu

Nancy Kingsbury Adjunct Professor

In October 2000, Dr. Kingsbury assumed the newly created position of Managing Director for Applied Research and Methods at the Government Accountability Office (formerly General Accounting Office), wh

  nkingsb@american.edu

Theodore Kniker Adjunct Professorial Lect

<p>Ted Kniker is an internationally recognized expert and thought leader in organizational performance improvement, with extensive executive leadership roles in the public and commercial sectors

  ted.kniker@american.edu

Christopher Koepke Adjunct Professorial Lect

Chris Koepke, Ph.D. is the Director of the Strategic Marketing Group at the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS). He is responsible for all Medicare and Health Insurance Marketplace comm

  koepke@american.edu

Last name starts with L

Last name starts with M

Patrick Malone Director and Executive in Residence SPA - Public Admin and Policy

Professor Malone is the Director, Key Executive Leadership Programs at American University. He is a frequent guest lecturer on kindness, gratitude, emotional intelligence, compassion, ethics, mindfuln

  pmalone@american.edu

  (202) 885-6271

Mark Maxin Adjunct Professorial Lect

<p>Mark Maxin has over 30 years’ experience in federal sector employment law, addressing critical issues involving equal employment opportunity, diversity, civil rights, bargaining and grievance

  maxin@american.edu

Wendy Melillo Farrill Assoc Professor SOC - School of Communication

Wendy Melillo is a full-time professor of Journalism. She teaches in the School of Communication's Journalism division. Her research is focused on how strategic communication influences society an

  melillo@american.edu

  (202) 885-1753

Matt Minahan Adjunct Assoc Prof Public Admin SPA

<p>Matt Minahan, Ed. D., is president of MM & Associates, an international consulting firm specializing in strategy, structure, leadership development, and communications.</p><p>

  minahan@american.edu

Last name starts with O

Sasha O'Connell Executive in Residence & Director, THSP MS Program SPA - Justice, Law and Criminology

Sasha Cohen O’Connell, PhD is an Executive in Residence in the Department of Justice, Law & Criminology, School of Public Affairs (SPA), American University where she currently teaches cyber polic

  sashaoc@american.edu

Last name starts with P

Meredith Persily Lamel Adjunct Professorial Lect SPA - Key Leadership Program

<p>Meredith Persily Lamel, MBA, P.C.C., is CEO of Aspire@Work. For 15 years, she has explored the frontiers of aspirational leadership, human behavior, and organizational development. As an exec

  persily@american.edu

Last name starts with R

Andrew Rahaman Adjunct Professorial Lect SPA - Public Admin and Policy

<p>Dr. Rahaman has over 25 years working nationally and internationally in diverse leadership positions building teams to design and implement both technical projects and overseeing geographical

  rahaman@american.edu

Last name starts with S

Roger Schwarz Adjunct Professor

<p>Roger Schwarz, Adjunct Professor Roger Schwarz has been teaching leaders and consulting to organizations since 1980. His area of expertise is leadership and teams. His writing, speaking, and

Carl Shapiro Adjunct Professor

Carl Shapiro has been an economist with the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) for over 25 years. Currently, Dr. Shapiro is the Science Impact Program Coordinator. The Science Impact Program is a focused e

  cshapiro@american.edu

Gwendolyn Sykes Adjunct Professorial Lect

Gwendolyn Sykes is the United States Secret Service Chief Financial Officer. In this role, she is responsible for the execution, development and stewardship of the Secret Service’s resources and curre

  sykes@american.edu

Last name starts with T

Robert Tobias Distinguished Practitioner in Residence SPA - Key Leadership Program

Robert Tobias teaches courses in public sector leadership in the Key Executive Leadership Programs. He also teaches facilitation and team development, conflict management and alternative dispute resol

  rtobias@american.edu

Last name starts with V

Last name starts with W

Ruth Wagner Adjunct Professorial Lect SPA - Public Admin and Policy

Dr. Ruth Wagner is a graduate of the AU MSOD program and a very active OD scholar-practitioner. After an early career in software engineering, Ruth led a change management practice of 50 consultants i

  wagner@american.edu

  (202) 885-2952

Reginald Wells Executive in Residence SPA - School of Public Affairs

Reginald F. Wells was named Deputy Commissioner of the Social Security Administration’s (SSA) Office of Human Resources effective July 15, 2002 after serving short tenures as Deputy Associate Commissi

  wells@american.edu

Patricia Williams Adjunct Professor

Patricia Day Williams transitioned from practicing and teaching family medicine to consulting in organization development (OD) over 25 years ago. She maintains a broad-based OD practice that includes

  pwilli@american.edu

Brian Williams Adjunct Professor

<p>Brian Williams, Ed.D. is a senior training specialist and the owner of Awzom Technology & Management. He is an Organizational Development Professional, Executive Coach, Professional Speak

  williams@american.edu

Last name starts with Z

Kevin Zachery Adjunct Professorial Lect

Kevin Zachery was born in Paris, France, and raised in Eagle River, Alaska. He’s been a student of leadership and organizational development since high school, when he was the Commander of his Navel J

  zachery@american.edu

Ruth Zaplin Senior Executive in Residence SPA - Key Leadership Program

Dr. Ruth Zaplin is an Executive-in-Residence, School of Public Affairs, Department of Public Administration & Policy and Director of International Programs, Key Executive Leadership Programs at Am

  zaplin@american.edu